Do you have some recent conversations you want to delete? Or, do you want to delete recent search history? Thankfully, Snapchat offers an easy way to clear your recent conversations or search history with a few taps. This post shares how to clear recent conversations and search history on Snapchat.
How to remove recent conversations
Let’s learn how to get rid of your recent conversations.
- Go to your Snapchat app and tap the Snapchat icon (looks like a ghost) at the top.
- Tap the setting icon (looks like a gear) at the top right corner.
- Scroll down to find “Account Actions”.
- Select “Clear Conversations”.
- Select “Clear All” at the top right corner, which will clear all Snapchat history.
Once done, try to go to your Snapchat chat history. You will no longer see any snaps.
How to remove recent search history
Now, let’s see how to clear recent search history on Snapchat.
- Go to your Snapchat app and tap the setting icon (looks like a gear) in the Profile screen.
- Scroll down and tap “Clear Search History”.
- Select “Okay” to clear your search history.
By doing this, you can remove all your search history. Please note that this method is not to prevent Snapchat from logging your history in the future. You will need to repeat the steps whenever you want to delete the history.
What about old Snaps and Chats?
So, we learned that we can delete recent conversations and search history. You may wonder if you would have to delete old Snaps and Chats or Snapchat does it automatically.
The answer is Snapchat takes care of it.
When Snaps are viewed by all recipients, Snapchat automatically deletes all of them automatically. If Snaps stay unopened beyond 30 days, Snapchat automatically removes them. Also, if Snaps are sent to a Group Chat and unopened beyond 24 hours, they are deleted automatically.
The messages that are exchanged in one-on-one Chats will be deleted automatically when both people have opened and left the Chat. You can change this setting to deleting after 24 hours. For this, go to Chat Settings and change the erase rules.
Like Snaps, Snapchat will remove all unopened Chats after 30 days.
One tip! You can save a Chat by pressing and holding on the message. When you save the Chats, they will appear on a grey background. If you want to unsave them, simply press and hold on them.
Snapchat offers a way to delete chats. Press and hold on the message you want to delete and then select “Delete”.
Snapchat will automatically remove messages sent in Group Chat after 24 hours whether those messages have been viewed or not.
Don’t make something that has to be deleted
We often leave traces online and we sometimes want to delete them. You could make a mistake on Snapchat like sending a message to wrong person or posting something that is not supposed to be seen by many people. Even if Snapchat provides various ways to delete conversations, search history, Snaps, and Chats, by the time you are deleting them, it might be too late. Once viewed by wrong people, it could be too late to amend the problems.
This might result in losing your Snapchat friends. If you want to check if someone has unfriended you or if you want to know don’ts on Snapchat, check out this another post about Snapchat.
We learned how to clear recent conversations and search history on Snapchat. The steps described above should be straightforward. This post also shared how Snaps and Chats are deleted on Snapchat. These are all useful features. However, deleted messages will not be recoverable. So, make sure you clear the right recent conversations or history (and Chats and Snaps too!).
If you want to know more about Snapchat tips, check these posts: