Sometime you want to move away from a social media because it can be tiring to follow up the latest feeds and react to your friends’ posts. There could be some other reasons for you to have a social media break. This post explains how to deactivate Snapchat temporarily if possible.
Can I deactivate Snapchat temporarily and revive it safely?
The answer is no. There is no clear way like a button on your Snapchat app that allows you to temporarily deactivate your account and activate it again as you want. From the Snapchat’s perspective, if users keep doing that, that can be looked as suspicious behavior. Snapchat is a social media thus security and private policies need to be strict. There is only one alternative option to decativate your Snapchat account, and that is to delete your account entirely!
I know you don’t want it but that is the only way currently. However, when you have hit the delete button, you will be given a 30-day grace period to cancel your decision, which is technically temporary deactivation of your account. During that period, your friends won’t be able to see your feeds and your profile. Also, they cannot contact you. Within the 30-day grace period, you can reactivate your account with all of your data being intact. As you can guess, there is a risk. If you forget to revive your account and 30 days pass, you won’t be able to restore your account and your data too. They will be permanently deleted.
How can I delete my Snapchat account
If you still want to pause your Snapchat account despite the fact that your data can be deleted after 30 days, follow the steps below.
- Go to the Snapchat account portal and log in.
- Don’t forget the account details since they will be needed when you want to reactivate it.
- The portal link will guide you to the steps to delete the account.
- Once finished, it will be deactivated for 30 days.
- During that deactivation period, your friends won’t be able to see, contact, or interact with you on Snapchat.
- After 30 days, your account will be permanently deleted, which means that your account, settings, friends, Snaps, Chats, Story, device data, and location data in Snapchat’s main database will be deleted.
- Snapchat may preserve some personal data for certain legal, security, and business purposes.
How can I restore my Snapchat account during the 30-day grace period?
If you want to revive your deactivated Snapchat account within 30 days, follow the steps.
- The step is very simple. Just log back in the Snapchat app with your username within the grace period.
- During the deactivation period, you can log in only with your username and password, not with your email address. You can’t also change your password during the period.
- The activation can take 24 hours before your deactivated account can be restored.
Can I control the grace period?
No, it is the Snapchat’s policy and it is not changeable. Thus, deactivate your account only when you’re confidence with your memory!
We learned how to deactivate your Snapchat account temporarily. It turned out you cannot control how long you want to deactivate your account while keeping all of your data. You will have to select to delete your account first. Then, you’ll be given a 30 day grace period for reactivation. Don’t forget it and don’t miss that grace period. After 30 days, all of your Snapchat data will be gone.
If you want to find more Snapchat tips, check the other articles below.