Delete_Snapchat_Msg

How to delete an unopened snapchat with a video guide

Snapchat provides a way to delete an unopened Snapchat message, and you can do it easily. The social app released this feature in June 2018. Since then, people constantly searched a way to remove a message.

How to Delete a Message

To delete a message,

  • Go to the chat room where the message was sent.
  • Click the message and hold it for a while.
  • You will able to see a popup window asking if you want to delete it.
  • Simply press the Delete button to get rid of the message.

This method applies not only to text messages but also to media contents such as images or videos. The person who received the deleted message, however, will still be able to see a notification saying that some message has been deleted. This way of leaving history is not limited to Snapchat. Facebook also alerts recipients about deleted messages. In spite of leaving traces, deleting mistake messages can save relationships or prevent secrets from going into the wrong people.

The wrong messages might also make other people unfriend you on Snapchat.

Video Guide

If you find the text guide above difficult, please watch this guide video that exactly shows how you can delete Snapchat messages.

Don’t Hesitate to Delete Wrong Messages

If you are concerned about the wrong messages thinking that they might offend the recipient or it’s simply not the right thing to do, it could be wiser to simply delete those messages. Sometimes saying less is better to keep the relationship.

A simple but important tip about snap chatting from this lady could prevent you from sending a wrong message. Especially if you are sending an important or a sensitive message, stop what you are doing and focus on writing the right message.

After writing a message, do double check if the recipient and the message are correct. The person below seems to start the year 2020 by sending Snapchats to the wrong person. Hopefully, that person hasn’t read the message yet so that it can be deleted.

Snapchat’s Default Delete Policies

While you can delete your unwanted messages instantly, Snapchat has its delete policies for Snaps and Chats. Since it is their policies, you have little control over them. This Snapchat page explains that they will automatically delete most messages once they have been read or expired. Let’s find out more details.

Snaps

Basically, Snapchat will automatically delete all Snaps after they have been seen by all recipients. For the unopened Snaps, they will delete them after 30 days. Similarly, for the unopened Snaps in a Group Chat, they will be deleted after 24 hours. As you can see, you have little control over how automatically Snaps can be deleted.

Chats

Compared to Snaps, you have a little more control over your chats. Snapchat automatically deletes messages that were sent in one-on-one Chat after both people have opened and left the Chat room. You can set the delete rules to delete after 24 hours in Chat Settings. Snapchat will automatically delete all unopened Chats after 30 days.

To prevent your messages from being removed, you can save Chats. Find the Chats you want to save and press and hold on them. Once done, saved Chats will appear on a gray background. To unsave them, press and hold on them again.

How to Prevent Sending Message to the Wrong Person

Sending a message to a wrong person is not Snapchat-specific problem. It is universal. You can find it anywhere that allows digital communications such as email, SMS, and many chats and social media apps. Although you can still delete the wrong messages, it can still leave a trace visible to the recipient. The best way to avoid trouble is by preventing it.

This blog lists good simple points about preventive measures.

Don’t send a text while doing something else. It can not only lead to an accident but also end up sending a wrong message. Before hitting that send button, counting three can be also a way for prevention. When you are in a situation where you have to send important messages, stop what you are doing and focus on the screen. Check the recipient and your message at least twice. This is simple but it works!

Conclusion

In verbal communication, there is no way back. Once you say it, that’s it. It is fortunate that you still have a chance to delete your communication in Snapchat and other similar apps. Although you can delete a wrong message, it leaves history. And, you might be asked by the recipient about the deleted message. So, don’t get distracted when sending an important message. Take your time before hitting that button.

Useful Links

Here are some posts that might be useful to you.